, , , , , , ,


Ludwig van Beethoven, 1770 – 1827

is one of the most celebrated pianist -composer of classical music.

A prolific composer, he wrote a number of musical works including:

thirty-two piano sonatas (music written for solo piano),

nine symphonies (orchestral pieces)

and five piano concertos (written for the piano as accompanied by an orchestra).


(images from classicfm.com):

Beethoven composing at the pianoLudwig van Beethoven

a master at his craft

Of his five piano concertos, Piano Concerto No. 5 in E Flat

is one of Beethoven’s best known and frequently performed pieces.

The concerto, written between 1809 – 1811,

is dedicated to Beethoven’s pupil and friend,  Archduke Rudolf.

It was first performed in Germany (1811).

The second movement, Adagio un poco mosso (slow/ a little moving)

is an exquisitely delicate, soothing moment of pure listening pleasure.

It is more than just ‘a little moving’.

Take a moment:  relax, unwind, enjoy

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, (2nd movement )

by Ludwig van Beethoven

piano solo performed by Arthur Rubinstein, 1887 – 1982

one of the twentieth century’s famed classical pianist.

Arthur Rubinstein performing on the piano

Arthur Rubinstein

performing at the piano

Ludwig van Beethoven’s

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, (2nd movement )

piano solo performed by Arthur Rubinstein